Spring 2020: A Week in the Life

Hey all! Welcome to 2020 and happy new decade, new year, and new semester. I'm gearing up for my final year of law school because I graduate this December . . . which is both terrifying and exciting. Since I have a new set of classes, a new work schedule, and just generally lots of NEW, I thought I'd share what I'm up against this spring by walking you through my week. This'll give you a first-hand look at what 2L might look like for you.


Monday

6:00am: wake up.

6:00-7:30am: read my Bible, journal, gratitude list, start today goal forecasting (I'll do another post on this at some point!), wake up my brain with my Peak app, get dressed, do a quick workout to get my body moving, drink some water, walk my dog (& usually call my mom while doing it), and make/eat breakfast

8:00am-12:00pm: work! usually consists of things like legal research, drafting motions, writing legal memos, reviewing bank records, shadowing attorneys, or writing articles for my firm's website.

12:00-1:00pm: go home, change out of my work clothes, make a protein shake for lunch, double-check that I have all of my materials and supplies for my classes, and head to campus.

1:15-3:15pm: evidence class.

3:30-5:00pm: remedies class.

5:00-6:00pm: dinner break. I meal prep on Sundays to make dinners to take to campus with me for monday-wednesday because I don't have the time or money to get take out every night.

6:15-8:15pm: land use planning class.

9:00-10:00pm: watch the bachelor (#pilotpete) with my roommates and friends.


Tuesday

6:00am: wake up.

6:00-8:30am: same morning routine as mondays. I make more involved breakfasts on tuesdays though because I have slightly more time before class begins.

9:00am-12:00pm: PASS class (this is one of my law school's two bar prep courses offered pre-bar prep period).

12:00-1:00pm: go home for a quick lunch, protein shake style, and get ready/drive to work.

1:00-5:00pm: work.


Wednesday

6:00am: wake up

6:00-7:30am: morning routine

8:00am-12:00pm: work

1:15-3:15pm: evidence class

3:30-5:00pm: remedies class

5:00-6:00pm: dinner break/short study session, usually to transfer notebook notes into my outlines.

6:00-9:00pm: criminal procedure class


Thursday

6:00am: wake up

6:00-8:00am: morning routine

8:30-10:00am: write down and plan out homework and reading for next week, and finish transferring class notes to outlines.

10:00am-12:00pm: global lawyering skills class (this is a 2-year long course with the first year focused on legal research and writing, and the second year focused on advocacy basics).


I have nothing else that's officially "scheduled" for the rest of the week, but I do have a routine (or at least, things I try to get done at a consistent point throughout the week). I'll put those in list form below.


Thursday

  • send out a text once a week to far-away friends to check in and hear about what they're up to

  • do a full workout

  • treat myself to chick fil a for dinner (I'm good most of the time, but chick fil a is my sweet spot and usually my reward for getting done whatever gross to-do task I had on my list for the week)

Friday

  • take my dog for a hike/long trail walk

  • do a full workout

Saturday

  • do a full workout

  • chores/cleaning the house

Sunday

  • meal prep

  • do a full workout

  • goal forecast/review for the week and/or month and or/quarter

  • 7:00-8:30pm: church


Other notes: I shower at night so I don't have to worry about that in the mornings. On the weekends I typically sleep in until 7 or 8am, and then do my usual morning routine before going to a coffee shop to study for a couple of hours. Some people prefer to sleep in and I totally get that - I'm just a morning person and feel way better about the rest of the day if I can start off by getting a few readings and tasks out of the way.


Some of you have noticed my weeks are very front-loaded. I did that on purpose. I love having my Thursday afternoon-Sundays absolutely free of obligations, even at the expense of making my Monday-Wednesday rather jammed. I pretty much get all of my homework done over the weekend so I don't need to worry about it during the week, which is also nice. The only one not on board with this system is my dog Captain - he gets very needy, especially on Thursdays, because I haven't been able to spend a ton of time with him.


I'd love to hear about what classes you're taking, what cool new jobs you landed, and any other changes 2020 is bringing to your legal life. Let me know, or connect over on instagram - @lexdesk.